NO on Proposition 8

October 22, 2008 chouei

I know I should be writing about my experiences abroad, and I really do want to, but this matter seems to be far more urgent as the clock winds down upon November 4.

When I think of the United States, I think of freedom, as does anyone, right? Our country is the “land of the free,” where we can openly speak our minds, openly practice religion, and openly accept people regardless of their backgrounds. We pride our country in being one that supposedly does not discriminate against anyone. Although we have met our rough patches throughout our history, as our history continues, we should be striving toward fighting for our fundamental beliefs.

It is such hypocrisy that my fellow Americans, no, my fellow CALIFORNIANS from one of the most liberal states in the U.S., would support a ridiculous proposition that goes completely against our country’s fundamental beliefs. Proposition 8 is unjust in every aspect as it is based solely on religious preference. Correct me if I am wrong, but isn’t the U.S. supposed to be about religious freedom? Is it not true that we pride ourselves in being a country that does not discriminate against anyone?

Then why, why, WHY is Proposition 8 even on the ballot? Why are people spending money supporting this proposition, when all it will do is create more injustice in our nation? Are homosexuals evil people? If you answer yes, then tell me, what have they done to you? Have they been running around like you have, trying to convince you that heterosexuality is wrong? Other than their sexual preference, how are they different from you? They eat. They sleep. And they LOVE.

LOVE! Isn’t that what God supposedly stands for? Yet it is “God’s people” who are imposing this gross injustice upon their fellow Americans. From what I learned in school, God loves and accepts everyone for who they are. So shouldn’t “God’s people” be following in his example?

Times are changing, and people of the past need to open their eyes and see that Proposition 8 will not do any good for our country except take us back several steps. Even if Proposition 8 passes, this will not be the end of it. I can assure you that as long as I have my freedom of speech, I will not stop fighting for the fundamental right to love and marry. I am not homosexual myself, but there have been so many gays and lesbians who have influenced my life positively. To think that these beautiful people could have their fundamental right to marry for LOVE taken away by ignorant voters scares me.

This is about equality for all Americans.

If you have any sense of pride in being an American, and any love for your fellow citizens, you would vote NO on Proposition 8.

NO ON PROP 8

NO ON PROP 8

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized and tagged: , , , ,

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Petar&hellip  | 

    Cheers!
    I can only hope that come November 4, the people of California will speak loud and clear, and overwhelmingly defeat this mean-spirited proposition.
    Unfortunately, recent polls show that the “Yes on 8” Moron-funded (Mormon, I mean) campaign has been able to gain traction by blasting the TV and radio waves all over the state. Their misleading, and plainly deceitful messages have scared voters from the “gays” and resurrected many of the homophobic feelings all across the state.
    Les, I want to believe that California is a land of free-spirited and progressive people. But I will have to wait until November 4 to really start believing it.

    P.S. And meanwhile, I’ll work my ass off to make sure I don’t leave it to chance.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Calendar

    October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Pages

  • Blog Archive

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • 08-08-08 2008 2008 Election 2008 Presidential El 2008 Presidential Election Alicia Sacramone American cars Asian America Barack Obama basketball Beijing Beijing Olympics blessings California cheng fei China Chinese Chinese dialects Chinese government Chinese gymnastics Chinese gymnasts Chinese language cultural differences Culture Shock Deng Linlin equality fake fireworks freeways freeways in China gay marriage GOP Guizhou he kexin Hillary Clint Hillary Clinton hotels hotels in China human rights Hunan Japan Joe Biden John McCain Jon Stewart Karolyi legalize gay marriage lip-syncing NBA NO on Proposition 8 Olympics one-child policy One Dream One World Proposition 8 reality television safe-sex same sex marriage Sarah Palin Shanghai Shawn Johnson Sichuan Summer Olympics Thanksgiving Tibet Tibetans Tokyo U.S. gymnastics USA Yao Ming
  •  
