You Disappoint Me, California

November 5, 2008 chouei

Before I begin on my latest and hopefully final political rant for the time being, I must express my glee in Obama’s victory. After a long and disappointing 8 years, the Democratic party has finally gained control of the top office. Almost all news stories that I have been reading describe this event as a momentous part in American history with President-elect Barack Obama being our first African-American president. As momentous as that this is, let it not be forgotten that this is not the only reason why today such an important day in our history.

Obama is a representation of the new generation of leaders. He marks the waning end of the Baby-Boomer rule, and the beginning of a new type of leadership that the United States and the world will experience. I hold him to his promise to bring the change that we desperately need.

This year’s election has also been a momentous one for the people of my generation. Some people are voting for the first time, and others, like myself, have never been more involved in any election ever before. Though this may not be a very convincing sample, I was scrolling through my Facebook friends’ updated statuses, and I was so proud to see so many of my peers actively involved in this year’s election. Whether they sided with my views or not did not matter to me that much; it was so empowering to see the change in our mindsets: we CAN make a difference and our opinions do matter.

Now, on to the bad news. It saddens me to see that over half of California voters prefer hate over LOVE. They are not willing to accept the changing time, and as a result, they have voted to ban same-sex marriage in our state. I try to look toward the brighter side of things, especially if I am rooting for the underdog. Although 52% of California voters are against LOVE and promoting a basic civil right that should be entitled to all Americans, I know for a fact that this will not be the end of it. As I have already stated before, I will not stay quiet until this basic human right passes through to the rest of my country.

On an ending note, though I can’t believe that I am actually wasting a few minutes of my life writing this, if you don’t appreciate what I have to say, that’s fine. Comment all you want. Just remember. This is MY blog and these are MY words. Therefore, I can monitor the content to my liking as much as I wish. I consider myself to be rather fair, but the more hateful, immature comments you try to leave here, the less inclined I am to approve them.

Change is coming. Just you watch.

V^.^v & ❤

Entry Filed under: 2008 Presidential Election and tagged: , , ,

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sfokc6125&hellip  | 

    I can only say I hope you are right. I hope he will get the job done. as to the House and the hill. We need the balance in order for it to be a voice of all , not just the voice of one party. Mr Obamas job is to us the Americans not to a party. I hope he can do that and get the job done.

  • 2. Bill diaz&hellip  | 

    Nobody hates gays !!legal gay marrage
    turns the bible into hate speech giving the govenment a tool to regulate
    the church. What’s wrong with you.
    gays don’t belive in god anyway and the ones that do are for prop 8.
    that’s what the civil union was for
    EQUAL RIGHTS so gays could marry without stomping all over the rights of straights. (get it) you must have went to public school

  • 3. myrainmilan&hellip  | 

    Bill Diaz, I didn’t know that the rights of straight people would have been “stomped” on had Prop 8 failed. Tell me, what rights would you and I lost had it failed? ‘Cause I sure as hell don’t see any rights being given to straights since Prop 8 passed.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Calendar

    November 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Pages

  • Blog Archive

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • 08-08-08 2008 2008 Election 2008 Presidential El 2008 Presidential Election Alicia Sacramone American cars Asian America Barack Obama basketball Beijing Beijing Olympics blessings California cheng fei China Chinese Chinese dialects Chinese government Chinese gymnastics Chinese gymnasts Chinese language cultural differences Culture Shock Deng Linlin equality fake fireworks freeways freeways in China gay marriage GOP Guizhou he kexin Hillary Clint Hillary Clinton hotels hotels in China human rights Hunan Japan Joe Biden John McCain Jon Stewart Karolyi legalize gay marriage lip-syncing NBA NO on Proposition 8 Olympics one-child policy One Dream One World Proposition 8 reality television safe-sex same sex marriage Sarah Palin Shanghai Shawn Johnson Sichuan Summer Olympics Thanksgiving Tibet Tibetans Tokyo U.S. gymnastics USA Yao Ming
  •  
